Cherry Berry Kale Smoothie

Well it’s a new year already – to be honest not really sure where the last one went.  I hope all of you had a great holiday season and start to the new year. Most years we bring the new year in at our cabin in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. I enjoy doing it because it gives us a chance to unplug and reflect on the past year and new year to come. However, this year was totally different, I actually just remembered I forgot about my year reflection time as I was caring for our 7 week old infant during that time. However, it was a peaceful time where we got to visit with some family and friends that we haven’t seen in some time.

The only New Years resolution that I made this year was to eat more fruits and veggies. Yes you may be thinking as a Dietitian I should be doing that already — but I admit I am human! I have slipped up in the past few weeks as I am not number one anymore. 🙂 ..I figured this was something that I could manage and make time for. In effort to keep up with that resolution I have being making use of one of our Christmas gifts – the Nutribullet. During Chael’s nap time I make sure to whip up a smoothie to help incorporate more fruits and veggies into my diet. I also find that keeping things ready, like clean and cut kale on hand makes this process easier.

As always here is a recipe of our favorite smoothie of the week.

Cherry Berry Kale Smoothie

1 cup of kale

1/2 cup of frozen tart cherries

1/4 cup of frozen blueberries

1/2 banana

1 tsp of raw honey or pure maple syrup

1 cup of Almond Milk

1 tbsp of ground flax-seed

1 tbsp of plain greek yogurt or tofu

Mix until well blended.

** The picture above is half the recipe.

 

Stay tuned to updates on Baby Chael. 🙂

Also, did you make any NY resolutions this year?

X. P.

 

 

20140108-184914.jpg

6 thoughts on “Cherry Berry Kale Smoothie

Leave a Reply

