Simple things

Keeping things simple. Easier said then done, am I right?

This past weekend, I had my hand at it. Trying not to get caught up in the stigma of having to have plans for the weekend. But to just stay put and concentrate on wholesomeness. Let’s just say today was way better then yesterday. I saw this quote not to long ago and it reminded me of a recipe I tried out today.

20130217-180153.jpg

Who could forget the childhood stories of the Wilder family??

The recipe came from a cookbook wrote by an Indian lady. The thing I like most about this dish is that each ingredient is individually visible on your pallet. Especially the light add-on of fresh Parsley. If you are an international foodie like myself, I suggest you try this simple recipe. It is great by itself or could be tosses in with a salad for a healthy lunch.

20130217-180201.jpg

Ingredients –

3 oz of split lentils

4 tbsp of oil

1 medium onion, peeled and finely chopped

2 cloves of garlic, peeled and finely chopped

8 oz of medium or course-grained bulgar wheat

2 tbsp finely chopped fresh parsley

1 tsp salt

freshly ground pepper to taste

Directions –

1. Depending on the type of lentils you use, you may have to presoak them. Mine just called for rinsing and sorting.

2. Heat oil in heavy pot over medium flame. Add onion and garlic, stir and cook for about 2 minutes or until onion is soft.

3. Add bulgar wheat and lentils, stir and cook for another 3 minutes or until wheat is lightly browned.

4. Add parsley, salt and 12 fl oz of water, bring to simmer. Cover, turn heat to very low and cook for 35 minutes.

5. Turn off and let sit covered for 25 minutes. Then add black pepper and mix.

According to the author this is a dish that is from the Middle East and is common to have for brunch with some goat cheese or sliced tomatoes.

I had it with some freshly squeezed lemon juice.

I hope everyone had a great weekend and a great week to come. Take your hand at trying to do something in your life, more simple 🙂

X.P.

2 thoughts on “Simple things

  1. I love that quote, and it is so true. This recipes looks great!!! I should give it a try, my husband is Lebanese and his culture is about Lentils and parsley, and it looks healthy too!

Leave a Reply

