Easy Vegan Brownies

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

20130207-153621.jpg

 

 

Yes, I do realize this is the 2nd treat in a row I have blogged about.

A great friend of mine gave me this new Vegan cookbook recently and I just had to try out a recipe. It was hard to pick just one let me tell ya. Finally, after much debate I decided to pick the Creme de Menthe Brownies!!

What to do –

Brownie

2 cups of unbleached flour

2 cups of evaporated cane juice

3/4 cup of cocoa powder

1 tsp of baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 cup of water

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

Directions –

Using mixer, combine flour, cane juice, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt. Add the water, vegetable oil and vanilla extract and blend on medium speed for 1 minute or until combined. Pour into greased baking pan and bake at 350F for 20 minutes. When done let cool for about 1 hour on wire rack. (which I didn’t do , but really needed to)

Creme de Menthe filling ( AKA my favorite part)

1/2 cup of butter substitute at room temp

2 cups of organic powdered sugar

4 tbsp of Creme de Menthe liquor

Directions – Whip butter in mixer until smooth, then scrap sides of bowl. Mix in the other two ingredients and mix for 1 minute.

You will need to spread this on top of brownies when they are cooled.

The next layer will be a chocolate ganache.

1 cup of gluten free chocolate chips ( make sure dairy free as well)

6 tbsp of butter substitute

Melt these in microwave then spread on top of Creme de Menthe layer. You will want to make sure these are cooled, since I was in a rush, mine blended, so I just created a swirl with the two. You will then place into freezer covered with plastic wrap for about 10 minutes to set.

They were very good. Especially if you like a soft moist brownie. I think that I will be using the Menthe icing for other recipes as it was amazing!

 

For those who follow me on IG, you may have seen these pictures I posted yesterday. I took my pup Macie for a walk on the lake we live on in Northern Michigan. It was a picture perfect day for sure!!

20130207-153633.jpg

 

Macie finds the snowmobile tracks easy to run in. Can you see her?

 

20130207-153641.jpg

 

This is her making her own path..

 

20130207-153648.jpg

 

I basically had to point and shoot here as the sun was blinding. I particularly loved the edged clouds by the sun.

Hope everyone is having an awesome week! If you are looking for some ideas out-of-town this weekend, there is the MicroBrew fest happening in TC and Alpenfrost here in Gaylord.

4 thoughts on “Easy Vegan Brownies

Leave a Reply

