DIY Pinterest Engagement Canvas Gift

One of my very good friends just got engaged over the holiday season. I had pinned a cute canvas project weeks ago that was inspired from the Kate Spade polka a dot dish collection. Having an extra canvas lying around, I though I would create a fun engagement gift idea for my friend.

Supplies –

Canvas

Paint (Purple, Green and White)

Paint brushes

Stencil

Newspaper ( or something so you don’t paint on the table :-/)

Glue

Circle Sequin ( or whole punched sparkly scrapbook paper)

Directions

I first mixed the paint to make a nice mint color. My friend is crushing hard on mint right now, so I thought it would be perfect, plus it’s the green and white colors we love (GO MSU!!).

20130128-174322.jpg

 

 

I only had to really do about two layers, compared to darker colors, this went on really nice.

 

20130128-174339.jpg

 

Pretty Mint & Glitter glue

20130128-174354.jpg

 

I added a wooden heart, which I painted mint as well. I used glitter glue to add some sparkle to some of the sequins pieces.

20130128-174410.jpg

 

 

Next you just want to place the sequins in a pattern on the canvas to come up with something you like. I also used a stencil and some purple paint to draw a J and M, placing the mint heart in between them.

20130128-174423.jpg

 

Once you have a design you like go ahead and glue the pieces on.

 

20130128-174432.jpg

 

This is it sitting up on our fireplace mantle. I think it will be a nice touch to their purple room.

Have you done any fun projects lately?

4 thoughts on “DIY Pinterest Engagement Canvas Gift

Leave a Reply

