End of the year Vegan Chili

Wow…where did December go? It passed so quickly as the last 2 weeks have been nothing but a revolving door of guest at our place. Although I clearly love that, I haven’t had a chance to really sit down and reflect on the past year and new year to come. Hopefully, since we will be heading up north to our cabin in the morning I will get the chance too.

For the year of 2012 I had made two main resolutions. The one I did not do was to run a 10k. I am still bummed I didn’t fulfil this resolution but I do plan to try for 2013. The one that I did keep, was to not drink alcohol for 30 days  (did this in January) as well as not drink any hard liquor for one year. It isn’t that I did it a lot, but I just wanted to really stick to something for one year, and well I did!! With just a few days left of the year, I am glad that I was able to stick with something for the whole year.

Recently we had lost power because of a snow storm and having some extra time I got to the chance to read this really inspiring book called Eat and Run, which about a ultramarathoner who is vegan. He included many lovely recipes in the book in which I adapted this chili recipe from one from his book.

Vegan Chili

Ingredients

1 onion, diced

1 15oz can of diced tomato

1 15oz can of tomato sauce

1 15oz can of black beans

1 15oz can of dark kidney beans

1 150z can of light kidney beans

1 tsp of cumin

2 tsp of chili powder

1 tbsp of cayenne powder

2 garlic gloves, minced

Directions

Saute the onion and garlic in olive oil. Add all ingredients bring to boil then simmer for about 1 hour. I served the chili in these yummy homemade bread bowl using a Artisan Bread recipe.

20121230-113817.jpg

This meal really wants to make me try being Vegan for 30 days. That might be on my new resolution list.

What about you, did you stick to your resolutions? What are your plans for 2013??

Need some inspiration, check out this book!

4 thoughts on “End of the year Vegan Chili

Leave a Reply

