4 Tips for Surviving Holiday Parties

It can be said that we are in full swing for Holiday Parties! Today, is perhaps the first day since last Thursday that I am not bustling to get stuff done or meet up with friends or family. But, very blessed for the people I got to see the last few days. Including, finally meeting my niece (BFF baby girl).

As, I can already feel that effects of lack of exercise is having on me, I thought I would give you all 4 tips on how I plan to survive the rest of the holiday season.

Tip 1 – It’s okay to eat before you go to a Holiday party if you are hungry. Arriving to a party really hungry is setting yourself up for a downfall. Go ahead and enjoy something small with protein before you head out. That way, you won’t go overboard when you get to all those yummy, not always so good for you foods.

Tip 2 – Don’t throw in the towel too soon! So, what if you really don’t have time to eat before you go to a party or they have the most amazing selection of deserts. It’s OKAY!! But what is not okay, is to give up eating well the rest of the season because of one bad day. Just do your best the rest of the week and don’t throw in the towel!

Tip 3 – Bring a healthy dish! If you are attending a pot luck, go ahead and bring a healthy dish. Just because it’s the Holidays, a time we all think we should splurge doesn’t mean we can’t eat healthy. Bringing a healthy dish, will at least ensure that you have one healthy option. ( Healthier Christmas recipes by Cooking Light)

Tip 4 – Don’t forget to excercise I admit, this time of the year is REALLY busy!! I have been slacking, I will be the first to admit it. Things you could do are take Fido for a walk or search for a quick video on YouTube. (Here is my favorite YouTube workout channel right now).

Hopefully all of you will be able to incorporate one of these tips into your Holiday Season. Is there any things you do that help get you through the Holiday season??

Stay tuned for a Healthier Sugar Cookie…..

4 thoughts on “4 Tips for Surviving Holiday Parties

    • That’s a great idea! Another thing I do with desserts at a party or at work, is if it isnt’ something homemade / secret family recipe, I usually don’t try it. To me a chocolate chip cookie usually taste the same, but if it is something totally new and different then I will try.

  1. I find I slack off with exercise around this time however with all the rushing around it can at least make up a little for it! But completely agree with Number 1. I used to always wait until I got there but even a banana or a piece of fruit can help with not going overboard!

Leave a Reply

