Getting healthy skin – My project & Smoothie

Hello – My project to get healthy skin went very well!! I was able to change my diet to include foods that helped my skin glow and be healthy.

For my project ( Graduated school project), I mostly studies the relationship of Vitamin A on skin. I found that yes diet does play a great role in the appearance of your skin. Yes, that certain nutrients to certain things. With Vitamin A I found that most research looks at it used as a topical product ( retinol) then through diet. It was all pretty interesting to say the least.

Things that I did change

– No Dairy – Still going strong in this department. I have noticed a HUGE difference. No more hormonal ( chin) acne to speak of!!

– Elimination of overly processed foods – The only “processed” grain products that I consume are sprouted bread, tortillas and whole wheat pasta. I have been really trying to watch my diet making sure everything else is in its simplest form.

– No Fructose Corn Syrup – doing this was an eye opener, it was in a lot of products I would have never expected like BBQ sauce and lunch meat.

РNo artificial sweeteners Рthis was probably the hardest one to do. I started using Truvia and coconut sugar in my diet instead.

I also make sure to stick to a face washing routine and drink plenty of water. I also have been making sure to incorporate lots of fruits and veggies also healthy fats and lean proteins.

It amazes me that, if I slip slightly one day, I wake up with a small zit. By watching my diet, I can really see how it impacts my skin. Making these changes as also kept up my more natural glow and shiny hair.

This is one of my favorite Vitamin A packed smoothies that also includes health protein and fats.

 

 

20121206-113650.jpg

 

Ingredients –

1 cup of spinach

1/2 cup of black berries

1/2 cup of soy milk

1/4 cup of tofu

1/2 cup of Bolthouse Carrot juice

2 tblsp of Grounded flax seed

2 tsp of coconut oil (Miranda Kerr’s secret!)

1tsp of honey

1 small banana

Blend until smooth

 

20121206-113658.jpg

4 thoughts on “Getting healthy skin – My project & Smoothie

    • Aw thanks again! I didn’t think I could do it, but it hasn’t been that bad. I have found great alternatives to make sure I am not missing out on any key nutrients. Since I know I can have it if I really want to makes it easy also. But, I think of the downside and ask myself is it really worth it?

  1. I’ve stopped drinking so much milk lately but I still eat eggs and cheese like there is no tomorrow. My skin has gone haywire with stress lately but hopefully that disappears now that things are calming down again.

    I think your comment is correct though, you just need to think to yourself “is it worth it?” and decide that way. I tend to give in to food because I’ve always had problem skin so I can live with it as much as I don’t want to.

Leave a Reply

