Ritual & Routine..Moving into November

Dictionary.com defines ritual as

an established or prescribed procedure for a religious or other rite

A routine as

a customary or regular course of procedure 

Just so we are clear 🙂

               Today is     the start of my birthday month! ( For those who did not already know 😉 )!

For some years now, I have made it a yearly ritual to celebrate my birthday for the full month of November. Since my birthday falls in the middle of the month, it just seems logically ( my bf would disagree). One of my more memorable years of celebrating was in 2010. I had just completed my Dietetic Internship (major milestone), so celebration was a must! I spent almost every weekend in a different state ( Texas, Illinois, MI, etc.)

We came across Sparty while shopping in CHI town!

Anyways, thus far I have plans to attend the Food, Beer and Wine expo in Grand Rapids (again) and visit Detroit for a weekend. Either way, I think its great to celebrate yourself once in a while. What sort of birthday ritual do you have??

As I approach a new decade of life, I will be also starting new chapters in my life. As working from home is my goal, I have found that when doing so, you must have order!! One routine that I have found extremely helpful, is having some time to drink my freshly ground and brewed coffee with some reading.

This spot is great, it has a nice view of the lake ( Macie enjoys) and is right next to the fireplace..Once we remodel I plan to keep and expand this as my reading nook.

I have found that reading books ( this included school books!) that are motivational help set the tone of my day. Some people may choose yoga ( I should) or a hot shower as perfect ways to start their day. But I have found that my days are most productive if I start out with a cup of motivation!

Here is what is helping me with this process

– Freshly ground and brewed coffee ( yes I am a coffee snob!)

– Glass of water

– Books and my pup in our favorite reading nook.

Books that inspire me now

The Happiness Project by Gretchin Rubin

Private Practice Getting that Jump Start by Beverly Price

The Entrepreneurial Nutritionist by Kathy King

I also found that reading all your blogs is inspiring too!

What sort of routines or rituals inspire and motivate you?? I would love to hear!

2 thoughts on “Ritual & Routine..Moving into November

  1. Omg, we have so much in common I also celebrate my b-day for the entire month, mine is in August. Only I start my day with a cup of tea and I agree with you about the routine, you definitely need discipline which I find challenging!

    • HA..I am glad I am not the only one 🙂 We have been discussing daily discipline/routine in my class right now. I think that this is something the business books don’t always teach you. Finding what works best for you is key.

Leave a Reply

