Kokkinisto Recipe

Hello..I have had this recipe posted on my message board for some time now, it is from the book Feed Your Face  Diet that I had discussed about earlier. The author Dr. Wu explains how tomatoes are great for protecting your skin from freckles, sun spots and premature wrinkling because of the powerful antioxidant lycopene. She also suggest eating a tablespoon of tomato paste with each meal when you are on a sunny vacation for extra protection for sun rays ( still need to apply sun screen as well). So I made this recipe for dinner tonight and it is amazing!! What I liked best about it was the broth, it was too acidy as I find some tomato based recipes to be.

The recipe is from actress Marina Sirtis, its a family Greek dish. Hence the term Kokkinisto meaning “reddening” as you must brown meat ( lamb or beef) before adding it to a tomato paste sauce. I do admit that I would change some things up. I will give  you the original recipe then suggest some changes I plan to make next time.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 – 2lbs leg or lamb or lamb shank ( I used to sirloin)

1 yellow onion, chopped

1/2 cup olive oil

1 cup dry red wine

1 can stewed tomatoes ( I used two, but only liquid of one)

1 tablespoon tomato paste ( I would use two)

2 bay leaves

1 cup water ( oopps I forgot this, but didnt miss it)

salt and pepper to taste

2 or 3 russet potatoes, peeled and chopped ( would prolly just use one larger one next time)

1/2 cup peas ( I would use one cup)

2 cups of spinach ( I would use 3 cups)

Directions

Cut meat into individual pieces

In a large pot saute the onion ( I also added one glove of garlic) in the olive oil until tender

Add the meat and brown on both sides

Add wine and stir, add the tomatoes, tomato paste, bay leaves, salt and pepper

Cover and simmer until the meat begins to soften, 30-40 minutes ( if sauce begins to thicken you can add water, I never had too)

Then add remaining veggies and simmer until the meat is tender and the sauce is reduced and thickened.

These pictures don’t give it total justice! It was really yummy!

I think that I would possible cook the potatoes separate, because they took forever! Causing the other veggies to wilt ( spinach). I would also perhaps just do one because they are a big higher in the glycemic index and I am trying to consume foods that are lower.

I hope everyone had a great weekend, I did update this post with some pictures. Most of the pictures we took out were blurry from the fog machine, lol. Oh well.

5 thoughts on “Kokkinisto Recipe

  1. I just had to try this – it looks fantastic and I’m ready to dish it up! If the smell is any indication then we’re in for a good night. 🙂 I also like the inclusion of the spinach, for the folate.

  2. Reblogged this on From 0 to Baby and commented:
    I have made this so many times that it’s high time I share it! When Priscilla first liked my blog I took a look through hers and stumbled on this FANTASTIC recipe. Since then I can’t count the number of times I’ve made it and each time I love it even more.

    A few notes:
    -I use Priscilla’s tweaks and haven’t regretted it once.
    -I also used sirloin, just because lamb is so darn expensive (and, Brian doesn’t like it. Poor Brian.)
    -I’ve only used the 1 cup of water once, thanks to an overeager burner that cooked down the liquid too fast.
    -I used two tablespoons of tomato paste as well, and often throw in a third.
    -To soften the potato without cooking it separately, I add it after 25 minutes and then add the other vegetables at 40 minutes. They’re perfect for us.

    Please oh please, if you enjoy hearty beef dishes, give this one a whirl. It cooks quickly, and you can save even more time if you prep the ingredients the night before. Send me pics of the finished product, and tell me how much you loved it!

Leave a Reply

