How to bake a pie pumpkin and eat it!

20121018-123815.jpg

I posted some of these pics last week. In attempt to eat more Vitamin A ( the basis of my current research) I have been indulging in yummy fall foods. I want to state that to get the best benefits of these foods you prolly should not have them in desert like foods. However, since its fall we mine as well find fun ways to have them, right?

I bought these two cute pie pumpkins the other day and did my first attempt at making a dairy free (still doing the no dairy kick ( getting results) ) pumpkin pie ( which lead to other yummy treats)..Out of these two pumpkins I got about 4+ cups of pumpkin ( not bad for $3.00!)

20121018-123828.jpg

I first cut them in half then removed the inside guts ( keeping the seeds to bake).. I baked them upside down in a shallow dish of water (outside rubbed with olive oil)…Baked these cuties for 45mins at 400F which may have been too long, but they were sooooo easy to scoop out.

20121018-123843.jpg

These are the treats that I made and still had about 1 1/2 cup left over!!! ( speaking of I need to throw that in the freezer)…Pictured here are baked pumpkin seeds, whole wheat pumpkin chip cookies and dairy free pumpkin pie..

I used this recipe for the pie, but I did make my own alterations as needed

1 store bought pie crust ( looked for one that didnt have dairy, but I think I need to search or make a better one)

2 eggs

1/2 cup of splenda brown sugar ( which really is only 2tbsp,2tsp)

1 1/2 tsp of organic cinnamon

1/4 tsp powder ginger

1/4 tsp of grounded nutmeg

1/4 tsp salt

2 cups of mashed pumpkin

1 cup organic vanilla soy milk

Directions

Whip eggs until frothy ( eggs at room temp will do better than cold)

Beat in sugar, then spices and  salt

Add pumpkin and soy milk, beat until well blended

Pour into crust ( make sure to bake crust has instructed before baking with mixture)

Bake for 10mins at 450F

reduce heat to 350F for 30-35mins

This recipe was SOOOO easy and it can impress your guests this holiday season, by saying I made this from scratch!! You can bake the pumpkin a week or days before then use in this recipe ( might want to freeze depending how soon) I actually think you can freeze this as well.

Anyways you can see any of these recipes on my Pinterest as I have created a board with recent recipes I have tried.

20121018-123858.jpg

We finally had a nice day in MI yesterday, but its back to rainy weather here ( power went out a lil bit ago for a min)… You can follow me on Instagram for daily pictures of MI and Food and my adorable Jack Russell  !!! (@sillmarie)

2 thoughts on “How to bake a pie pumpkin and eat it!

Leave a Reply

