Body Image

A dietitian I follow on Facebook posted this video. It made me think of this amazing eye-opening book called Perfect Girls, Starving Daughters by Courtney E Martin. It can be found on Amazon here. It is a book that discusses body image in females. One major point that I took away from this book, is that a mother’s body image reflects on her daughter. I thought after I read this how much that is true. I can remember my mom bringing up weight while growing up. This lead to my constant need to feel that I needed to be a certain weight because that was what I was expected to do. I also grew to have picky eater syndrome in order to control the environment I was in. As a dietitian now, I have finally learned to love my body more than other. While advocating women empowerment, I encourage all females alike to read this book, watch this clip and feel empowered to love yourself!!

Here is a link to the video. It’s called Bodies.Ask Amy.Ep 6

Leave a Reply

